The information in this section of the website will help you throughout your training

As you progress in Taekwon-Do you will be tested by an external examiner at club gradings. The grading process is very important to both your training and the growth of the T-UK. Gradings are designed to improve your techniques and maintain your enthusiasm, whilst being a test of both your physical and mental strength. There are ten gradings before you reach you Black Belt. 
You will be expected to take four of these gradings per year (up to Blue Belt) and then three per year until you are ready to take your Black Belt grading. By successfully competing your gradings you will be awarded a belt. The colour of your belt is a representation of your ability.

10th Kup White Belt

White signifies innocence, as that of the beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwon-Do.

9th Kup Yellow Tag / 8th Kup Yellow Belt

Yellow signifies earth, from which a plant sprouts and takes root as Taekwon-Do foundation is being laid.

7th Kup Green Tag / 6th Kup Green Belt

Green signifies the plants growth as Taekwon-Do skills begin to develop.

5th Kup Blue Tag / 4th Kup Blue Belt

Blue signifies the heaven towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwon-Do progresses.

3rd Kup Red Tag / 2nd Kup Red Belt

Red signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control, and warning the opponent to stay away.

1st Kup Black Tag / Black Belt

Opposite to white, therefore signifying the maturity and proficiency in Taekwon-Do. Also indicates the wearers imperviousness to darkness and fear.