World Championship Success for T-UK ! - 11/4/2011

A team from the newly formed T-UK (Taekwon-do United Kingdom) led by Mr. Miley and Mr. Condie took part in the inaugural PUMA Open World Black Belt Championships, on the 19th and 20th March 2011 at the Oasis Leisure Centre, Swindon. 

The two-day tournament opened on Saturday with a full programme of senior, junior  & cadet black belt patterns, followed by junior and cadet sparring competitions, finishing with the cadet team events.


Patterns competitions opened the event and it was pleasing to see how well the T-UK performed against the other international ITF competitors.  Several medals were won and some excellent displays meant that we had two competitors who managed to get to the final stage where they had to perform a choice pattern and a nominated pattern.   Attention should be drawn to Lorna Eden on becoming the Female Cadet World Champion in patterns.  

Once the junior and cadets had completed their individual events the adults took the stage for their patterns events.  Strong performances resulted in a number of medals.


Once the pattern competition had been completed the eagerly awaited sparring competition began standard of the competition was exceptional which made it very exciting for competitors and spectators alike.

The Junior and Cadet individual sparring competition witnessed some incredible displays of free sparring skills resulting in some fantastic performances no more so than that of Joshua Dale who became Male Cadet Lightweight World Champion and congratulations to Emily Powell who become the Female Cadet Heavyweight Champion.

The first day’s competition ended with the team events which resulted in a bronze medal for the T-UK Male Cadet Team made up of Joshua Dale, Chris Filsell, Andrew Miller, Lyle Walker, Niall Worrall and Alex Baker.  The team secured a bronze in the patterns competition. 


In the Team sparring event the T-UK team faced the heavily fancied PUMA England team and after some very exciting and extremely competitive sparring the T-UK team progressed ! Then they had to face the tough and talented  team from Ireland.  In a highly charged atmosphere the T-UK faced the Irish team eventually winning 3-2 to become Team World Champions.

Sunday began with the Veteran’s patterns and sparring events which saw Lee Anderson entertaining the crowd on his way to becoming Heavyweight World Champion.


The adult sparring competition was soon underway in dramatic fashion creating a very exciting atmosphere as all events were fiercely competed and all TUK competitors.  So many excellent performances took place that it would be impossible to list them but in addition to Kenny Anderson Fiona Trainer secured the gold to become another T-UK World Champion.  However, attention has to be drawn to the Men’s Lightweight Division was made up of a very strong field of competitors and resulted in an all T-UK final with Karl Davies and Ross Cavinue. This closely fought final over two rounds of two minutes duration saw Karl Davies emerge as the Gold medal winner.



Team events concluded a very successful, not only in terms in terms of individual performances and medals won, but also in showcasing T-UK in an international tournament.  It was also great to make new friends and renew friendships made previously which is an integral part of belonging to the wider Taekwon-do family.



In conclusion we would place on record our huge thanks to Master Ray Gayle and his colleagues from PUMA and all the other groups which ensured that the weekend was a great success. 


List of Medal Winners


Lorna Eden –Gold medal

Izzy Brider – Silver medal

Fiona Trainer- Bronze medal

Karl Davis –Bronze medal

Lee Anderson –Bronze medal

Kenny Ferguson –Bronze medal

T-UK Cadet Male Team –Bronze medal



Emily Powell –Gold medal

Joshua Dale –Gold medal

Karl Davis –Gold Medal

Fiona Trainer – Gold medal

Lee Anderson –Gold medal

T-UK Cadet Male Team -Gold medal

Ross Cavinue –Silver medal

Izzy Brider – Silver medal

Romy Mottershead –Silver medal

India Isles –Silver medal

Kenny Ferguson –Silver medal

Liam King –Bronze medal

Lyle Walker –Bronze medal

Lewis Walker –Bronze medal

Anna Reed –Bronze medal

Alex Baker –Bronze medal

Phil Mottershead –Bronze medal